Wednesday, 5 September 2012

Call for Applications for AWARD Fellowships 2012

AWARD is a professional development program that strengthens the research and leadership skills of African women in agricultural science, empowering them to contribute more effectively to poverty alleviation and food security in sub-Saharan Africa. AWARD is funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and the United States Agency for International Development.
AWARD offers two-year fellowships that include a series of career development resources to;
  • establish a mentorship for each fellow with a senior scientist
  • build science skills
  • develop leadership capacity
AWARD holds training courses in various locations in Africa during the two-year program and covers fellows’ travel costs to attend.


Women agricultural scientists who are nationals of Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, or Zambia, who have completed a bachelor’s, master’s or doctoral degree, particularly in the disciplines listed below, are eligible to apply. There is no age restriction.

Agricultural economics,Agricultural engineering, Agronomy, Animal and livestock sciences, Aquatic resources and fisheries,  Biodiversity conservation,Crop sciences, Ecology, Entomology,Extension education, Food sciences and nutrition, Forestry and agroforestry, Horticulture, Molecular biology(plant/animal breeding), Natural resources management,Plant/Animal/virology, Soil sciences,Veterinary sciences, Water and irrigation management. 

Applications received after the deadline and incomplete applications will NOT be accepted.
Selected fellows will be notified in mid-December, 2012.

Successful candidates must be available to attend one of three five-day Mentoring Orientation Workshops to be held in February and March 2013 in Kenya. Dates to be announced.

Full details of the  Award Fellowship  can be found at 

No comments:

Post a Comment